Late Night Thoughts

This weekend has been a good one because God has been stirring some things around my heart. I don’t know if it’s ever happened to you but sometimes He speaks to you quietly for a little while and then you hear something and it’s like, ohhhh duh he’s been whispering to me all weekend.

Our pastor is spending 2 weeks visiting different pastors throughout Europe and sent a video for all of us to see, a recap of his time there so far. One of the pastor’s Josh was visiting was speaking on the video, speaking of being a Christian in London, and it’s not easy. I’m not sure I’ll be able to quote him exactly, but he said something to the effect of, “You can tell the contents of a tea bag once it is in hot water.” As a person, you see who you really are when you go through trials. I believe this to be true, for the past nine months I’ve been going through trial after trial, up until about 2 1/2 months ago I’d say my tea bag looked pretty good. But the past 2 1/2 months have been dry and icky, and I have no one to blame but myself.

The quiet whispers have been spoken to me through 2 different times yesterday, we had our church’s annual women’s lunch yesterday. The theme was love, seems so simple right? Love your neighbor, love your enemy, die to yourself, love, love, love. Jesus is the only way to make the above happen, nothing is about you or what you’ve done, it’s all about Him. The other was at a memorial service of a great women, one who cared so deeply for everyone in her life. A woman who made even a stranger feel loved. My thoughts, why can’t I be like her? Why can’t I do what Angela spoke of earlier. God’s whisper, “Abide in Me” “Love me, and you’ll love them”

Then today (the icing on the cake) our guest speaker happened to speak about dry spells in our walks with the Lord. (oh geez, I’m pretty sure his sermon notes said my name on it) It was a great message, speaking of the different lessons we learn during our droughts. My favorite lesson was that when God strips you of everything it’s because He is preparing you for something big. I think that is the most awesome thing I’ve heard in 2 1/2 months! I’ve never been so stripped in my life, and with the unknown concerning my blood test results and the ability to have a baby I’m not quite sure the stripping is through. But as He is stripping me, I can find encouragement that He is building me up at the same time, preparing me for something awesome.

I talked before about having a hardened heart in this post, that doesn’t change over night, but I do think that I am ready for the Lord to begin a work. The sad thing about dry spells is that you cannot get that time back, and I regret the way my tea bag has been looking. Thank God that He is forgiving and unfailing, and so is my husband because I haven’t been the best trooper for either. My last thought on my dry spell, I may regret my thoughts and lack of strong faith, but there is nothing I can do about it now, but be better, and Abide in Jesus.

So here’s to being revived, and here’s to loving even when it’s hard to.

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Sweet dreams.

3 thoughts on “Late Night Thoughts

  1. Seriously Jessica I think our lives have so many parallels right now! I know exactly what you are saying. I realized yesterday that maybe this is just another test. Another opportunity to get stronger and have more faith. That maybe GOD is saying No Jaymi, you have to lean on me!

    • I believe that all trials are a testing of our faith, some harder than others. Yours.. one of the hardest. Stay Strong Love goes for your love of the Lord too. Stay strong Jaymi, and yes I agree He does want you to lean on Him and nothing else, everything else will fail you. Love you!

Leave a Reply

