The Grass is always greener..

Or should I say, the fries are always crispier. I do not eat fast food, like ever, except for the occasional inn-n-out cheeseburger. But when Scott and I do, his french fries are always better than mine! My definition of a great inn-n-out french fry is little and crispy, yum! So as usual once we got our order today I look across to Scott’s fries and yep, all those little crispy’s! Of course Scott doesn’t care if I eat his fries but it’s the concept, I told him today, “gosh, the fries are always crispier on the other side” Then I started to think of a conversation I had last night with my dad, and one of my favorite girlies Kathleen. It’s no secret to most of my dearest friends my struggles lately with having a baby (or should I say lack thereof) Not only is it hard to deal with the loss of them, but there was definitely something in the communion cup because there are sooo many friends and families at our church having babies right around the time our little girl would have been born. Maybe that sounds silly that I think like that, but that’s a struggle for me, in a way I’m jealous. I’m human. But in talking with my dad, and then Kathleen it really helped me. We talked about being content. I’ve said this so many times before but I have a tendency to live in the future, so much so that I’m wasting away the present.

Also, without going into detail (because it would take forever) Scott has also been dealing with stresses of his own. Hopefully by next week it will all be cleared up. But for the last month or so we’ve both been just kinda there. Our relationship hasn’t been affected but I can tell a difference in us. We lounge around, aren’t excited, don’t really have an appetite for doing too much besides lounging. Usually in marriage it works out that when one person is down, the other is there to lift that person up. I feel liked the biggest… dweeb (for lack of a better word) for not being better at encouraging him, praying and loving him during this hard time. It’s obvious that what I’m dealing with is hard too, but he has to deal with me (scary I know) plus all his stuff. Shame on me for not being better at being the Godly wife He made me to be.

What does all of this have to do with french fries? Well nothing really but it’s all about being content. Being content with our family of 2, being content in this house, whether or not Scott is a fire fighter, whatever it is I’m worried about will happen next week, or next month. Having peace as we are. In Matthew 6:24 it says, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Somewhere in between my conversation last night and eating lunch today, it has been shown (yet again) to me very clear to just trust. I’ve seen a change in Scott too, which maybe is what he’s needed, he knows that no matter what happens with his job, it’s in God’s hands so for the next week he’ll go to work trying his best, but be at peace because he can only do so much, God’s done everything to get him to where he is anyway. If it was taken away, that’s His will for our lives. I don’t know, maybe that’s what Scott needed to learn all along.

I honestly can never say that I wish the bad things or struggles in life didn’t happen. Because with those struggles comes lessons and stronger faith for the next time. Right? Right! And now, because I’ve talked (or written) waaay too much as usual. I wanted to share something super cute! I’ve shared this video on facebook before but it’s just so cute and I listened to it again today so I had to post it again. They way she’s leaning on her daddy and the way she looks at him totally melts my heart!

Another verse I have written and keep around the house is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” It’s encouraging that God’s word tells us to not stop praying, keep asking, He will answer, in His timing. xoxo j.

3 thoughts on “The Grass is always greener..

  1. Jessica, I love that video,, but when you look at that know that, that dad has not even come close yet to enjoying the Love of his daughter, like I have. I pray for him that he will not lose sight of what is important. I wrote in my journal :)the other day that my life has been full of miracles, and I dont mean that lightly, from the day i was saved until today they continue. You are one of those Miracles in my life, I love you ♥

  2. Pingback: This encourages me greatly.. | J. Rose Photography

Leave a Reply

