What’s for dinner :: Layered Enchiladas

Before you now is the easiest, most yummy enchilada recipe I’ve gotten my hands on. I actually got the original recipe from our church cookbook but modified it a bit to fit our “food personality” (sure I’ll make things up as I go) The ingredients are:Your going to want to use cooked shredded chicken. I used to boil the chicken but I got tired of it tasting like rubber. So this time I just threw the frozen chicken breast in the crock-pot with some water, salt, pepper and garlic salt. Cooked it on low for about 6 hours, it’s tasted sooo much better. It shreds easy that way too. (ps. I didn’t measure anything, this recipe is better if you go off of preference. For example we use the smaller can of enchilada sauce because we don’t like too much. But we love cheese! So we use a lot of that) First your going to want to dip the tortillas in warmed enchilada sauce and layer on the bottom of the baking dish. (I used a 8×11 glass baking dish but you can use 9×13, it’s just Scott and I so we don’t need one that big)
Next, you’ll layer the cheese, then chicken and diced chili’s and more cheese. Then you’ll pour the green enchilada sauce over this layer.Next layer, same thingAnd again..Lastly, you’ll cover it with foil and stick it in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes, then uncover it and cook it for about 10 more. (Mine turned out a little crispy because Grayson unexpectedly decided to wake up 30 minutes after I put down for his nap so I had to tend to him while my enchilada’s crisped up) That’s okay they still tasted fantastic!
I hope you make them, if you do let me know how they turn out! I’m hoping to try some new recipes for some goodies too, I’ll post when I do. Happy Wednesday everyone! xoxo j.

Leave a Reply

