To infinity. And beyond.

I am going to be super duper transparent with you right now.
I struggle with self esteem, self confidence.
I feel like it’s getting worse instead of better as I get older.
I kind of think that it is directly related to social media.
How many friends do I have? Followers? How many likes did my picture get?
It sort of messes with your mind doesn’t it?
If you let it, it will.

My confidence is in Christ. I forget that sometimes.
I mean I never truly forget that,
but when I am worried what everyone else thinks..
It’s not because I am focused on Him. I am focused on them.
Do you ever want to be inside someone else’s head for even just an hour?
I wonder what they really think of me?
Sometimes I think that would be awesome,
because we can be so negative about ourselves
and it would help us to see what other people who love us see.
Other times.. most times it would be bad.
We are human and how many times have we judged someone
because we don’t care how much they loved their sushi
or what their running shoes look like..
I don’t need to know that they don’t really want to see
another picture of Grayson laying on Dakota.photo-1We search and we search for approval from people,
but what we don’t get is, that we already have the approval
the kind we don’t deserve, that kind that is only given because of His grace.
That’s enough. How many likes does He give us? Infinity. And beyond.
(too much Toy Story I know) but it’s true.
I am enough. You are enough. Just as we are. Even without any likes.

Psalm 28:7 “The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusted inHim, and I am helped; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, And with my song I will praise Him.”

That is my Monday rant. I’m done for today, promise.
Have a wonderful day, after a busy three days I’m going to most likely hang out with Gray in our pj’s all day.
Doesn’t get much better than that.

4 thoughts on “To infinity. And beyond.

  1. I see you as an awesome Christian woman who loves Jesus and is loved by Jesus. One of the most creative and talented people I know. Awesome mom and family person loving friend to so many. Great photographer who takes the most beautiful pictures. It is funny that you say you look to see how many likes you get. Usually I look at Facebook but never comment because I am afraid just ask Lisa but I could not miss this opportunity to let you know I think you are a wonderful person. Have a great day

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Jess,
    I love your transparentcy and heart to share! My favorite part about this is not finding our approval in others but accepting that we already have all the approval and acceptance we will ever need in Jesus Christ. We don’t deserve His love and grace, but that’s the most wonderful part, even when we don’t deserve it, He cloaks us with it. 💗 I know I need to remind myself of this everyday!
    I seriously enjoyed having you join us yesterday Jessica. 😊 Looking forward to the next time we get together! xo

Leave a Reply

