Be still, so that you can hear My voice

In the busyness of the Christmas season, I think that the last thing anyone is doing is “being still”
Or maybe it’s just me.
I feel like I haven’t been still since I’ve had Grayson.
The Christmas time is just a magnifying glass into how lost I really am.

For part of my nightly reading, I am reading through Sarah Young’s Jesus Calling.
She said it perfectly how I am feeling,
“Many are too busy to listen. The “work ethic” has them tied up in knots. They submit wholeheartedly to this taskmaster, wondering why they feel so distant from Me.”

I can tell you firsthand if you are feeling distant from the Lord,
you have no one to blame but yourself.
Totally not trying to be mean, I’m talking to myself really.
We sit here and expect the Lord to speak to us, guide us..
How is he going to do that if we are so busy, too busy
to hear His voice?

I think that He’ll whisper for a little while,
to see if you notice. If you’ll be still long enough for Him to speak.
Then, after enough time goes by, He’ll shout.
He will get your attention one way or another.
Take it from someone who has heard that shout,
go ahead and just listen for the whisper.

So my challenge for us is to take it a little slower,
enjoy our days a little better.
Most importantly spend time in God’s Word,
He can’t fight for you if you are distant.
Also tell the people you love, that you love them.
Hug them a little longer, squeeze them a little tighter.
Be still, listen for the Lord; and enjoy this magnificent holiday.
be still

(source)

One thought on “Be still, so that you can hear My voice

Leave a Reply

