Whip it up Wednesday :: Bright metal alphabet magnets

IMG_0704It has been waaay too long since I have posted a DIY! One of my 32 goals that I set this past birthday was to start a new blog series that allows me to be creative. Since I have been saying no to other people and yes to myself I wanted to take this time and try and craft more often. Be creative more often, especially since I love it so much. Again like my Fridays are my Favorite series, it won’t be every week but just as often as I am able to. Hope you enjoy!

First up, this modern spin on your typical alphabet magnets. Ohhh I almost forgot, most of the DIY’s I do are quick, easy and fun. So that’s why I chose to call it Whip it Up Wednesday, it will most likely always be something you can whip up in a couple of hours. I feel better now that that’s explained. Okay moving on.

Oh wait I can’t move on yet.. I have to tell you after I did this little project, I’m not really sure about it.. I mean I love how they turned out but when I think about what they are for.. little kids.. and what do kids do with everything? Put it in their mouths! These little magnets are pretty small and shouldn’t be near their mouths anyway but we’re all smart enough to know that it will happen once or twice. I just barely showed G these and he picked it up and tried taking a bite! So I am going to go ahead and put it out there that unless you can find something (kid friendly) to seal these, I would just use them for decoration. Because they are definitely cute, but not exactly kid-approved! Alright now we can move on.

The supplies you need are: Magnetic alphabet letters, a primer and a bright metal spray paint. ($9 total)IMG_0520The first thing you’ll do is spray the primer on your letters. It took me a few coats to cover up the fluorescent below.IMG_0524 And lastly, (yes only two steps!) you spray the bright metal over the primer and there you have it.IMG_0526I think they turned out really cute and they would be cute just spelling out someone’s name, or maybe even older kids to practice their letters. But not the itty bitty ones. I just love this metallic paint! I see a lot of pretty shiny silver things in my future.IMG_0700Almost half way through the week, that’s the good thing about Wednesdays.. They really do get you over that hump of a week, and we have dinner plans with some special peeps so that makes my Wednesday even better. Have a wonderful day!! xoxo j.

One thought on “Whip it up Wednesday :: Bright metal alphabet magnets

Leave a Reply

