Whip it up Wednesday :: one way to make wood look aged

IMG_8356-aI’ve got another quick DIY for you today. You might remember me talking in February about Garlands and good causes, but this time our exchanges was letters and numbers. It couldn’t have come at a better time, since we are moving out soon I’ve been stocking up on new (inexpensive) home decor. So I can’t wait to get mine in the mail! I’ve been talking through email and Instagram to my exchange partner and she is so sweet. I’m really excited for her to get my little care package. The way I did this was so easy I thought it would be a perfect project for my Whip it up Wednesday.

Ingredients are: any type of wood letter, (2) different colors of spray paint (one for the bottom coat that peeks through and another for the top coat), and then Vaseline. That’s it!IMG_8144First thing you’ll do, spray paint the bottom coat. For this coat you don’t have to get every inch of it, but you don’t want to cover it pretty good.IMG_8147 After that dries, you will rub Vaseline on it. You’ll basically rub it anywhere that it might have “aged”  if it were as old as you are trying to make it look. IMG_8151 Next you will spray it with the top color and let that dry really good. Keep it in a place where it won’t get touched or rubbed. (which is practically nowhere with a two year old!)IMG_8156Once it is all dry, all you do is take a paper towel or rag and rub all over. The paint will wipe right off in all of the areas you applied the Vaseline. I’ve painted a few things like this now and always love how it turned out.IMG_8160IMG_8357Here is my letter and number that I sent out, I hope she loves it as much as I do!IMG_8356Have a great Wednesday! If you have a tutorial that is easy to whip up, please leave the link in the comments below! I’d love to follow along.

2 thoughts on “Whip it up Wednesday :: one way to make wood look aged

  1. Pingback: Friday Footnotes | Creating For Our Creator

Leave a Reply

