Fix our gaze on things unseen

I was just thinking the other day and picturing God and how He feels.. whoa that sounds crazy, there is absolute no way to truly understand how God works but after having Grayson I feel a teeny tiny idea. Let me explain, Grayson turned two a couple weeks ago. Besides him learning so much and developing his little personality which I love, this is my least favorite “stage” so far. He pushes to see how far he can go, gives a little attitude when he doesn’t get his way and doesn’t like to be nice all of the time. Something I have told him since he was old enough to walk was, “I only want to have to tell you one time.” He is very smart, and has always been. He knows exactly what I am saying when I tell him something. It worked used to work even when he was little, but not lately. So I was just thinking about the way God might feel when it comes to us. At least for me, I am in a period of life as I have been forever where we are waiting. And time and time again He is faithful, yet now I am questioning his timing. If God spoke audibly to me this week I am pretty sure He would say, “I have told you this before and I only want to tell you once.” (Insert crickets because I have no response)

Scott and I were talking about this very thing the other day. I told him that I just want what I want without this huge lesson that God wants to teach me. For once let me ask for this and get it. You know what he told me? Maybe it’s because we still haven’t learned. Gah. (Remember I said this earlier about Grayson, He pushes to see how far he can go, gives a little attitude when he doesn’t get his way and doesn’t like to be nice all of the time) That kind of sounds familiar. Pretty sure I deserve a time out.

time out
I feel ya son, I feel ya.

A few Sundays ago our pastor was talking about Heaven, and not allowing the things of this life get to us. He read, “Do not fix your eyes on the temporary rather than the eternal, you will have a troubled heart..” Have a Heavenly mind. This so applies to me practically every day. I let even the smallest things discourage me. Do you ever know that you’re very close to that thin line between being sane and going absolutely crazy? I see that line at my toes. I need to set my mind on things other than what this life offers.

2 Corinthians 4:17-18 “For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever.  So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.”

One thought on “Fix our gaze on things unseen

Leave a Reply

